ABOUT


Who We Are

We are a group of healthcare providers and trainees who aim to address the social determinants of health, reduce social inequalities and improve the population health outcomes through an online platform. This platform, Social Medicine Network Ottawa(SMNO), is an initiative based on the principles of Social accountability, human dignity and equality (see “what is social accountability”). We aim to enhance the understanding of the health, particularly amongst the healthcare trainees, by providing information pertaining to the available opportunities and resources in and around the city of Ottawa. These resources include an interdisciplinary group of individuals and various community organizations offering a range of opportunities such as volunteering, clinical electives, research and leadership in areas involving the marginalized population.

This initiative, which builds upon, on the Social Medicine Network of British Columbia(see SMNBC) is open to public and is maintained by the University of Ottawa Faculty of Medicine Student Advisory Committee. Ultimately, we hope the Social Medicine Network will help bridge the gap between social and clinical medicine, allowing the healthcare trainees to better appreciate the impact of social factors on health, particularly amongst the marginalized population.

The Social Medicine Network of the University of Ottawa is an initiative that connects community organizations, healthcare providers, healthcare trainees to learn, foster relationships, and other opportunities pertaining to the social medicine. This initiative builds upon the Social Medicine Network of British Columbia that helps individuals to improve health outcomes and reducing health inequities.

À PROPOS


Au sujet du RMSO

Nous sommes un groupe de fournisseurs de soins de santé et d’étudiants qui souhaite s’attaquer aux déterminants sociaux de la santé, réduire les inégalités sociales et améliorer l’état de santé de la population par le biais d’une plateforme en ligne. Cette plateforme, soit le Réseau en médecine sociale d’Ottawa (RMSO), est une initiative fondée sur les principes de la responsabilité sociale, de la dignité humaine et de l’égalité. Notre but est de permettre aux étudiants en soins de santé d’améliorer leurs connaissances en matière de santé en leur fournissant de l’information sur les possibilités et les ressources disponibles à Ottawa et ses environs, et en les mettant en lien avec un groupe interdisciplinaire et une variété d’organismes communautaires proposant diverses activités : bénévolat, stages cliniques, recherche et leadership dans des domaines qui touchent des groupes marginalisés.

Cette initiative, qui est ouverte au public, s’inspire du Social Medicine Network of British Columbia. La plateforme est gérée par le Comité consultatif étudiant de la Faculté de médecine de l’Université d’Ottawa. Enfin, nous espérons que le Réseau de médecine sociale créera des ponts entre la médecine sociale et la médecine clinique et permettra aux étudiants en soins de santé de mieux comprendre les répercussions des facteurs sociaux sur la santé, surtout au sein des populations marginalisées.

Le Réseau en médecine sociale de l’Université d’Ottawa facilite les contacts entre les organismes communautaires, les fournisseurs de soins de santé et les étudiants en santé, et favorise l’apprentissage, la création de liens et la multiplication des possibilités en médecine sociale. Cette initiative suit la voie tracée par le Social Medicine Network of British Columbia, qui contribue à l’amélioration de la santé et à la réduction des iniquités en matière de santé.